ESD 105 & Other Districts Form New Regional Safety School Cooperative

Taking a new step to establish safer learning environments for students, school districts in south central Washington have united with ESD 105 this month to officially form a Regional School Safety and Security Cooperative.

Leaders from 16 school districts in Yakima, Kittitas, and Klickitat counties joined Educational Service District 105 in formalizing the new venture during an organizational meeting that was held at ESD 105 on October 8.

ESD 105 School Safety and Security coordinator Randy Town says local school leaders have been most highly interested in three common areas of safety and security at their schools:  conducting walkthroughs in their buildings to assess visitor access control, reviewing school crisis management plans, and networking information between schools and area law enforcement and crisis response organizations.  ESD 105 will help coordinate those and other services for all member school districts of the new co-op.  All other local schools will be able to receive the same assistance from ESD 105 on a fee-for-service basis.

The ESD 105 Regional School Safety and Security Cooperative was organized as a collaborative way to assist area schools in their safety planning and training, which had once been funded through state and federal grants.

The new regional co-op developed out of the local School Safety Advisory Group that was formed this past January, just a few weeks after the Dec. 14 school shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary in Newtown, Connecticut.